
Galvo MOPA fiber laser · Desktop galvo · Monport
Monport GA 60W MOPA
Small engraving businesses that want a 60W MOPA with autofocus and a slightly larger field for color marking and deep metal engraving
from $4,200 at Monport, checked Oct 10
Image: Monport. Prices change often; the shop shows the current price.
Quick verdict
The Monport GA 60W is a one-piece MOPA fiber laser with one-button autofocus, a 175 x 175 mm field lens and a laser arm that rotates 90 degrees for oversized items. It costs $4,200 on Monport's US store, or $4,400 with LightBurn. The MOPA source gives the pulse width control needed for color marking on stainless and deep 3D engraving, and Monport claims it cuts 2 mm stainless and similar metals. It competes head to head with the ComMarker B6 MOPA 60W: a bigger field, more lens-to-bed height and a two-year warranty, against more weight, no included glasses and a slightly higher price.
What you still need
1064 nm laser safety glasses for everyone in the room ($45 each from Monport), an enclosure if others share the space (Monport's $539 enclosure with door switch), fume extraction (Monport's 200W extractor is $329.99), a LightBurn licence or the $4,400 bundle, and a rotary ($170 more as a bundle) for tumblers and ringsMaterial reality check
Marks, color marks and deep engraves stainless steel, aluminum, brass, copper, gold, silver and titanium, and marks stone, black acrylic, leather and hard plastic. Cuts thin metal sheet in multiple passes per Monport. Wood and clear acrylic or glass are poor choices at 1064 nm. Never process PVC or vinyl.Better alternative if
you want the same class of 60W MOPA with glasses in the box, under half the weight, for $200 less: ComMarker B6 MOPA 60WScores
Scored on the same scale for every laser on this site. See all lasers ranked.
Specifications
| Laser type | Galvo MOPA fiber laser |
|---|---|
| Form | Desktop galvo |
| Optical power | 60 W |
| Other modules | None |
| Wavelength | 1064 nm |
| Work area | 175 × 175 mm |
| Max speed | 10000 mm/s (maker claim) |
| Cutting (maker claim) | Maker graphic claims cuts of 2 mm stainless steel, aluminum, copper and titanium, 1 mm silver and 0.2 mm gold (pass count not stated); 0.1 mm marking depth in a single pass |
| Precision | 0.01 mm engraving accuracy (maker claim) |
| Air assist | None |
| Camera | No |
| Autofocus | Yes |
| Rotary support | Yes |
| Safety | Open one-piece galvo machine with no enclosure or interlock, and safety glasses are not in the listed box contents. Monport sells an enclosure with a door protection switch ($539) and 1064 nm OD7 glasses ($45) separately |
| Connectivity | USB |
| Software | BslAppSimple, LightBurn (Windows and macOS; licence extra, or $200 more as a bundle) |
| Weight | 32 kg |
| Price | from $4,200 at Monport, checked Oct 10 |
Pros and cons
Why we like it
- 60W MOPA with 1 to 3000 kHz and 2 to 500 ns pulse control for color marking and deep relief
- One-button autofocus and a 175 x 175 mm standard field, larger than the usual 150 mm
- Laser arm rotates 90 degrees for marking large or bulky items beside the base
- Up to 410 mm between lens and bed for tall parts
- Two-year machine warranty, one year on the laser source
Watch out for
- No safety glasses in the listed box contents and no enclosure as standard
- No camera; positioning is by red light preview
- Heavy at 32 kg net, more than twice the weight of the ComMarker B6 MOPA
- LightBurn costs $200 extra on top of the $4,200 machine
- Laser source brand is not stated and we found no independent review of the current version
Compare with

OMTech Galvo 50W Autofocus Fiber
Score 74/100 · from $2,300 at OMTech, checked Oct 10
Compare side by sideFrequently asked questions
What materials can the Monport GA 60W MOPA cut and engrave?
Marks, color marks and deep engraves stainless steel, aluminum, brass, copper, gold, silver and titanium, and marks stone, black acrylic, leather and hard plastic. Cuts thin metal sheet in multiple passes per Monport. Wood and clear acrylic or glass are poor choices at 1064 nm. Never process PVC or vinyl.
What else do I need to buy with the Monport GA 60W MOPA?
1064 nm laser safety glasses for everyone in the room ($45 each from Monport), an enclosure if others share the space (Monport's $539 enclosure with door switch), fume extraction (Monport's 200W extractor is $329.99), a LightBurn licence or the $4,400 bundle, and a rotary ($170 more as a bundle) for tumblers and rings
How much does the Monport GA 60W MOPA cost?
From $4,200 at Monport, checked Oct 10.
How we rank: by our own scores for power, speed, ease of use, safety and value, from the maker's published specs and independent tests where they exist. Some links earn us a commission (for example TwoTrees, SainSmart, Gweike and Amazon). That never changes a score or the order of a list (disclosure).
Sources
- Monport GA 60W MOPA product page (US store, spec comparison table)
- Monport store data (variants and prices)
- Monport GA 60W metal cutting graphic (product page image)
- Monport GA package list (product page image)
- PR Newswire via Utusan: Monport showcases upgraded GA and GT Series MOPA fiber lasers (May 2026)

